little me

i stare up at the black sky with dots of light

i see the trees reaching out to touch the flatness

are those really balls of fire so many miles away

am i really as small as i feel right now

 

the greatness of it all makes me want to create

something beautiful

i long for the immortality of doing

something

 

i close my eyes and open them again

hoping that i can see deeper into the night

the distance i travel into my mind

is like the blackness up above me

 

the greatness of it all makes me want to create

something beautiful

i long for the immortality of doing

something

 

quiet presses in and blends with the noise of my thoughts

silence and screaming dreams compete for my attention

i grasp reality briefly but it’s lost again

closing the distance

between me and out there

 

the greatness of it all makes me want to create

something beautiful

i long for the immortality of doing

something

something

something

 

 

About Delton

Dad, husband, drummer, cyclist, writer, poet, and Christ-follower. Right-brained dreamer solving left-brained problems. Trying to relate in new and creative ways. View all posts by Delton

7 responses to “little me

Leave a Reply

