To blog, or not to blog…

I’ve been reading about the art and science of beginning a blog on http://tentblogger.com/get-started/, which is a HUGELY beneficial resource for new bloggers.  I’m still finding my voice, but thanks to John (@human3rror), it was obvious to me that I needed to change platforms.  So, based on his advice, I’m in the process of migrating to WordPress.  Someday I may host my own on WordPress.org, but I’ll use WordPress.com for now. 

As my way of saying thanks for his wisdom, I borrowed from Shakespeare and wrote this post to honor my new friend.  (John was also instrumental in my decision to enroll at DTS, but that’s another post for another day…)

TENTBLOGGER:

To blog, or not to blog–that is the question:

Whether ’tis nobler in the mind to publish

The sayings and postings of other bloggers

Or to make my own way in a sea of troubles

And by posting show them. To post, to write–

No more–and by a post to say we end

The search, and the thousand natural hits

My site is heir to. ‘Tis an SEO strategy

Devoutly to be wished. To post, to write–

To post–perchance to dream: ay, there’s the rub,

For in that post of mine what content may come

When we have turned off the site analytics,

Must give us pause. There’s the strategy

That makes not a disaster of so much code.

For who would bear the whips and scorns of comments,

Th’ moderator’s wrong, the anonymous man’s insult

The pangs of unread posts, the reader’s delay,

The insolence of comments, and the spurns

That patient merit of th’ unread blog,

When he himself might his own comments make

With a bare blog? Who would writing bear,

To grunt and sweat under a weary MAC light,

But that the dread of something after blogging,

The undiscovered country, from whose bourn

No traveller returns with writers’ block,

And makes us rather bear those ills we have

Than fly to other sites we know not of?

Thus our commentless posts make cowards of us all,

And thus the default theme of WordPress

Is sicklied o’er with the pale cut and paste,

And enterprise of great posts and content

With this regard their currents turn awry

And lose the names of readers. — Choose you now,

Oh fair Blogger! — Change, in Standard Theme

Be all my comments remembered.

About Delton

Dad, husband, drummer, cyclist, writer, poet, and Christ-follower. Right-brained dreamer solving left-brained problems. Trying to relate in new and creative ways. View all posts by Delton

5 responses to “To blog, or not to blog…

Leave a Reply

