what’s the next step

Originally posted 5/14/10

great blog post this morning by Tony Morgan (http://bit.ly/bKvnnB) about taking the next step.  read it for yourself, but the message i took from it is that we can’t always know the end of the story before we move in obedience. love it!  (thanks Tony!)

but for me, at least in this season, it’s less about being willing to take the next step, and more about hearing God’s voice about WHAT the next step is?  as i meditated on the words Tony shared, this is what i penned…

i’ve walked and i’ve run

and sprinted and slept

You’ve brought me this far

so now i’m wondering

what’s the next step

i’m ready to put my foot in the Jordan

i’m ready to swing my leg out of the boat

i’m ready to cross on dry ground or walk on water

but first i need to know my next step

i’ve dealt with the challenges

my faith’s tested and firm

i’m worried yet i’m not

the future is uncertain but known

what’s the next step

i’m ready to put my foot in the Jordan

i’m ready to swing my leg out of the boat

i’m ready to cross on dry ground or walk on water

but first i need to know my next step

i want to be obedient

i want to go Your way

i want to walk the straight and narrow

i want to hear what You have to say

help me listen to Your promptings

help me know just what to do

help me to be ready to take that next step

help me to know that it’s really You

i’m ready to put my foot in the Jordan

i’m ready to swing my leg out of the boat

i’m ready to cross on dry ground or walk on water

but first i need to know my next step

do you know your next step?  if so, then if you don’t mind, tell me how you know? i’d like to learn from you…

About Delton

Dad, husband, drummer, cyclist, writer, poet, and Christ-follower. Right-brained dreamer solving left-brained problems. Trying to relate in new and creative ways. View all posts by Delton

Leave a Reply

